Lucas sweeps Callington’s first team player of the year awards

By The Post in Football

MICHAEL Lucas was the big winner at Callington Town Football Club’s annual awards night at Trethorne on Friday, June 2 as he won all four first team trophies.

An audience of over 100 celebrated success for the ladies team who won the Cornwall Women’s FA Cup and came second in the league, the veterans who finished runners up in the Cornwall Cup and also finished runners-up, while the seconds with many players competing at senior league level for the first time, finished runners up in the East Cornwall Premier League.

The first team, who enjoyed a late successful run that saw them avoid relegation in the South West Peninsula League Premier Division, saw stalwart midfielder Michael Lucas achieve a clean sweep of awards, winning the Manager’s Player, Players’ Player, Leading Goalscorer and Supporters Player of the Year awards.

The East Cornwall League team saw Jarryd Kelly win the Manager’s Player award, Kieran Prescott lift the ‘Leading Goalscorer’ trophy and Jamie Rowlands take home the Players Player and Supporters Player of the Year awards.

For the third team, who finished bottom of the Duchy League Premier Division, there was much thanks for all those who stuck by the team during the difficult season which saw them nearly pull out of the league.

Goalkeeper Kieron Sanders, one of many 16-year-olds in the squad, lifted the Players’ Player of the Year award while Jason Ridgement won the Leading Goalscorer and Manager’s Player accolades.

For the successful veterans, Adam Windrum was rewarded for his sterling work in the Cornwall League with the Players’ Player of the Year award while Wayne Stephens lifted the Manager’s Player of the Year trophy. The leading goalscorer went to Chris Truscott.

Finally, the very successful Ladies team awarded the Players’ Player of the Year to Sam Veal, while Amy Hemingway won the Manager’s Player of the Year and Kate Nicholls lifted the Leading Goalscorer trophy.

The Young Player of the Year across the club was awarded to Eleri Griffiths, with John Wilson and Steve Woolley being rewarded for their tireless work behind the scenes with the Clubman of the Year trophies.

Add Comment

Add Your Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment

By posting your comment you agree to our T & C